I'm Just Saying…

July 10, 2010

Seen and Heard, week ending July 10th, 2010

Filed under: Books — jillamyrosenblatt @ 6:04 pm
Tags: , , , , ,

Greetings fellow bookworms! I thought it was a good time for another installment of Seen and Heard. I hope everyone is enjoying the summer and for those of you in the Northeast (I’m here in New York), I hope you’re finding ways to beat the heat. If you’re hiding away inside somewhere, enjoying a much needed blast of artificially refrigerated air, you might like one of these books to pass the time:

1. Chasing Shakespeare by Sarah Smith. It’s in my “to read” pile from the library and it looks like a good one. It’s a mystery about a young man who finds a letter written by Shakespeare, stating he did not write his plays. But is the letter real? Hmm…

2. The Kept Man by Jami Attenberg. Also in my “to read” pile, this is the story of Jarvis Miller. Her husband had an accident and has been in a coma for years. Looking for companionship, she happens upon a group of men who meet in a laundromat, The Kept Man Club. These are all men who have successful wives who make the money. This looks to be a great book with a strong main character who tries to figure out her present, her future, and make sense of her past.

3. In the non-fiction department, I am currently reading, John Lanchester’s I.O.U.: Why Everyone Owes Everyone and No One Can Pay. This is a very interesting book and written in a way that doesn’t talk down to the reader but rather uses clear cut, easy to undertand examples to explain the financial meltdown and how it happened. A really good book so far.

4. Over at The Huffington Post, there’s a cute article by Jesse Kornbluth on “25 Novels You Can Read on a Beach Without Embarrasing Yourself.” I thought it was really great and was happy to see some classics in the list.

5. Speaking of classics, I’ve been rediscovering some classics myself this summer, including Raymond Chandler’s The Big Sleep, James M. Cain’s Double Indemnity, and Aldous Huxley’s Brave New World. In my “to read” pile are George Orwell’s Animal Farm and James M. Cain’s Mildred Pierce and The Postman Always Rings Twice.

5. I discovered a new website for essays, articles, and all things literary called The Nervous Breakdown. If you get a chance, check it out.

Unfortunately, as soon as I post this, I know I’m going to be upset that I forgot something I wanted to mention. I’ll keep it for next time. Please send your comments and suggestions my way. If you’ve already read some of these books, I would love to hear your comments and please send your suggestions of what should go on my list!

I hope you’ll forgive me a little shameless self-marketing. If you are still looking for a good beach read, my books Project Jennifer and For Better or Worse  are available in bookstores and over at amazon.com. I hope you’ll give them a try.  Don’t forget my newsletter, The Jennifer Chronicles, is free and posted over at my website. All the volumes are posted so you can catch up on Joan’s adventures from the beginning.

I’m still working on my next blog topic, but I hope to have it posted soon.

Happy summer everyone!

J.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

