I'm Just Saying…

June 5, 2010

Seen and Heard – Week Ending June 4th, 2010

Hello Everyone! Happy National Doughnut Day! It came as a surprise to me that there is a national holiday to celebrate a round (sometimes rectangular), tasty, caloric nightmare but I heartily approve and have marked my calendar so I’m prepared  next year.

I’m still working on my weekly post. Apparently I don’t understand the concept of the blog: short bursts of writing that are published frequently.  Thanks for your patience. In the meantime I thought it would be fun to share some things I came across this week that interested me and might be interesting to you. If you have any suggestions of your own, please feel free to comment! I’m interested in just about everything.

Books:

  • On Facebook this week, Jennifer Weiner posted that she has signed a four year, four book deal. Congratulations Jennifer! That is fantastic news! I read In Her Shoes, a wonderful book, and I’m looking forward to continuing to read her excellent books.
  • I read a book review in the current issue of People Magazine for The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender. This looks like a very interesting book I’m anxious to read. It’s about a young woman who can taste the emotions of the people who made her food, allowing her to understand the emotions of her family members.  
  • Read a witty post over at HuffPo Books by author Gina Barreca, on summer reading . I looked up Gina on Amazon and she has a new book out called “I’m Not That Bitter… Or How I Learned To Stop Worrying About Visible Panty Lines And Conquered The World. This looks like a fun book that I definitely plan to check out.
  • Tonight on MSNBC’s “Countdown” Keith Olbermann read a witty short from author James Thurber. I looked him up and he was an author and cartoonist. His work appeared frequently in The New Yorker. Tomorrow I’m off to the library (to pay my fine, of course) and I’m going to check out some of his books.

Shopping:

  • Payless Shoes is having their BOGO sale, buy one get one 1/2 off. I went in on a whim today during lunch hour. Many pretty sandals! I’m not a power shopper but occasionally I get the urge and I was not disappointed.
  • Revlon Photoready Foundation: Every summer I try to switch to a lighter weight foundation so I tried out Revlon. So far, I give it a thumbs up. 
  • Nail polish: I tried out a new color for the tootsies. Sally Hanson Diamond Strength color “Champagne Toast” is very nice. It’s very subtle, giving just enough hint of color.

That’s all for this week. One final note of shameless self promotion, if you’re looking for a beach read, please consider giving my book, Project Jennifer, a try. It’s fast, it’s fun, and people other than my mother have told me they really like it. It’s available at Borders and Barnes and Noble and online at Amazon.  If you’d like to get to know Joan, her story continues weekly over at my website in The Jennifer Chronicles at http://www.jillamyrosenblatt.com/newsletter.htm Okay, moment of shameless self promotion is now over.

I hope to post my regular, weekly blog topic this weekend. Please check back or subscribe to the blog.

Have a great weekend!

J.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

